top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan Elliott

Mazes

If I were to create an exhibition for this project, I would set it out as a maze. I would do this because by creating a maze, I will be able to confuse the viewer and perhaps make them feel more uncomfortable, especially if the images are towering over them.

I want to set it out like a maze to represent a person's mind. The purpose of a maze is to challenge the visitor to find the means of passing through and escaping, but in this case, they are escaping the mind of someone who suffers from a fear, or multiple fears.

However, the mind is not just a normal maze, it is more of a labyrinth. A labyrinth is a circular maze. A labyrinth is a right brain task. It involves intuition, creativity, and imagery. With a maze many choices must be made and an active mind is needed to solve the problem of finding the center. With a labyrinth there is only one choice to be made. The choice is to enter or not. A more passive, receptive mindset is needed. The choice is whether or not to walk a spiritual path.

Image - 'Labyrinth', by smugsomeone.


Here is a rough design as to how I would like the exhibition to look. I built this through Artsteps. However, I was unable to make a circular type room, but if I were to create an actual exhibition inspired by a labyrinth, I would be able to make the inner walls curved to make it a more circular maze.

The images are large and overpowering, designed to disorientate the viewer further. The blank walls will be filled with text - stories and facts about phobias and how they can change a persons life. This is to make the viewer feel more empathetic to the people who suffers with a phobia.


2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Evaluation

Overall, this project has been very successful. I have been able to adapt my project quickly due to a major change of circumstances, and produce a range of images that make the viewer feel slightly un

Nosos

bottom of page