top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan Elliott

Social Media Takeover part 2

We then discussed doing a large social media takeover on our joint Instagram account, I made a spreadsheet and wrote down the dates for each week and then two people. This way, everyone would have a chance to show their work and gain some more exposure as we were unable to attend Free Range due to Coronavirus.

The takeover started on the 24th June and will end on the 24th August, most people have taken part so far and have posted 3 or more images for their 3 days, as well as a description of their work and who will be showing work after them.

This was quite a simple task to organise, however, some dates did get mixed up, so I had to re-organise all of the dates, and some people either forgot, or were simply too busy to be able to take part in the takeover, but fortunately, the majority of people were able to take part and post their images.

This has also made the account grow slightly, which means more exposure for our work.

However, the Facebook page that was created unlinked from the Instagram page, so we can easily host another takeover, but use the Facebook page instead. This would lead to more exposure and a wider audience, as mainly young people use Instagram, and older generations will use Facebook – its also easier to contact the artists directly through Facebook as we can add email links, as well as other social media links.




My takeover was from the 20th-23rd July, I posted a total of 3 images that I found were my favourite and the strongest of my project.

I decided to use my artist statement to go alongside the first image and then what the work is about and my inspirations for the next two. See below for more.

Image 1 – To start off this weeks takeover is Megan Elliott. Megan's most recent project is called 'Phobos', a project inspired by phobias. PHOBOS. Φόβος. (Ancient Greek : phobia) PHOBOS is a project inspired by phobias. These uneasy images are designed to elicit the uncomfortable. Whilst some phobias represented are seen as irrational, others will be more understood. The work seeks to raise empathy in the viewer, helping to acknowledge the distress that can be caused by the most unlikely phenomena and deserves recognition.

Image 2 – "The images created are meant to make the viewer feel the same discomfort an individual who suffers from the fear may feel. Many people may say that a fear is irrational or silly, but that one fear can change the way someone lives and thinks."

Image 3 - "I am inspired by the works of Alfred Hitchcock and Maya Deren. The suspense and discomfort they create within their work is something I wanted to recreate for this series of images. I want the viewer to feel some discomfort by looking the images in hope that they feel more empathetic towards those who suffer with the phobias."



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Photobook

This is the photobook I created to acompany my images at the Free Range Exhibition.

Evaluation

Throughout this academic year, I have been able to raise my skills , build numerous contacts, gain experience within the industry and find career paths I may venture down. As well as this, I have gain

bottom of page