top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan Elliott

Vatsal Kataria

Updated: Apr 18, 2020

While looking for inspiration for my first model, I came across Vatsal Kataria. I found his work interesting as he was able to create amazing scenes from cheap materials. I decided to follow him on Instagram, and we ended up having a conversation about his work, he told me about lighting techniques he uses for his models as well as the materials he uses. Kataria uses card as the skeleton of his models and then outlines it in plaster or air dry clay so he can get the texture he wants, he then paints onto the model once it's dry.

As well as the paint, he coats the model in scenic grass, sand and moss to make it look extremely realistic. On a previous model I made, I tried to use plaster but unfortunately, it didn't work as well as i had hoped. He then told me that he used to be a physiotherapist, so he was quite experienced in using plaster, so he was able to create models very well out of it.

He now creates models, and also does artistic nude paintings and also does photography for museums and exhibitions. He told me that it takes a lot of practice to create a realistic model, and it took him several days to create the mountain he wanted when he first started building. The information he gave me about the materials was very helpful and will hopefully help me in the future when I build the miniature scenes.

I also found the lighting in his images very interesting, so I asked him how he does it.

Kataria uses a single spotlight to illuminate his images as he finds it creates a much more dramatic effect, and for his portraits, he mostly uses a single light set up. Another important thing he told me was to only use a white light as it's easier to change the temperature in photoshop as well as the brightness and contrast, this is because by using a white light, you are getting the actual colours of the model created, and not an orange/yellow tinge.

The first set he ever created was inspired by the game, Call of Duty, he also finds other games and anime help to inspire him and his model creations too. This is very similar to how my models are and will be created. Games such as Red Dead Redemption, the Far Cry franchise and Fallout are big inspirations for me and the work I create, as I find the landscapes breath-taking and in some ways, surreal.

42 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Photobook

This is the photobook I created to acompany my images at the Free Range Exhibition.

Evaluation

Throughout this academic year, I have been able to raise my skills , build numerous contacts, gain experience within the industry and find career paths I may venture down. As well as this, I have gain

bottom of page