top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan Elliott

Shoot 2

For my second shoot, I decided to represent the fear Aichmophobia, the fear of sharp objects.

I decided to use a large kitchen knife as the sharp object - I thought the bigger the knife, the bigger impact it will create and the more uncomfortable the viewer will feel. Here are all of the images I took for the shoot.

The shoot went quite well and I was able to get a range of angles and some of which the light hit the side of the knife, making it stand out more.


Warning - some of the following images may distress some viewers. If you'd like to see the end result, please view the next blog post - 'Aichmirós'


This shoot is inspired by Alfred Hitchcock's 'Psycho' and Maya Deren's 'Meshes of the Afternoon', these are the images/scenes that inspired this shoot.

The thing you notice in all of the images is the point/blade of the knife, so for my image, I wanted to direct the focus to the point - the most dangerous part.

I also made the image black and white like Alfred Hitchcock and Maya Deren's films.


This is the black and white image. I made sure the shadows were strong and that the knife and skin stood out more than anything else. The reflection of light on the knife draws you into the centre of the image and the dark shadow made by the point of the knife on the skin and the dark lines on the knife makes you focus on whether the knife is.

Aichmirós


I also made a coloured version of the image. I feel as though the colour is stronger than the black and white as the red of the knife stands out even more and the colour pallet is the same - warm tones.

Aichmirós.



-Aichmirós

-Aichmophobia-

Phobos-

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Evaluation

Overall, this project has been very successful. I have been able to adapt my project quickly due to a major change of circumstances, and produce a range of images that make the viewer feel slightly un

Mazes

bottom of page