top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan Elliott

Shoot 4

For my fourth shoot, I decided to represent the fear Spheksophobia, the fear of wasps. This is a very common phobia, many people, including myself may have this phobia.

I made a model of a Yellow Potter Wasp out of polymer clay and then painted it. I then decided it would make the image more uncomfortable to look at if the wasp was placed near, or even on my eye. Here are all of the images I took for the shoot.

Below is an image of a female potter wasp. They can grow up to 22mm, but I decided to make the model slightly bigger to make it stand out more. I chose this particular wasp because the shape of their body is unsettling. Compared to a normal wasp, this one is much more creepy to look at - the long, thin body along with the spindly legs can easily give you chills.

I decided to try both black and white, and colour.

Spheco.

Spheco.


I find both images strong in different ways - the black and white looks more eerie, but the coloured image makes you instantly look at the wasp because of the bold yellow.



-Spheco

-Spheksophobia-

Phobos-

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Evaluation

Overall, this project has been very successful. I have been able to adapt my project quickly due to a major change of circumstances, and produce a range of images that make the viewer feel slightly un

Mazes

bottom of page