top of page
  • Writer's pictureMegan Elliott

Little Bird

To keep in touch with the post-apocalyptic theme of the last model I created (Apocalyptic Room) I decided to use an object that I found at a very young age at my Great Granddads House behind the garage.

Me, my sisters, and my cousins used to play hide and seek in the garden, and one day I decided to hide in the small gap by the garage. While I was hiding I found a bird skull, I was always extremely interested in wildlife and found it fascinating to find something so delicate laying in some stones.


For years, it was sealed away in a clear container on a bed of cotton wool to stop it from becoming damaged. I finally decided to make some use of it and create a new model. I decided to call it 'Little Bird' simply because it was a little bird and I didn't want to give too much about it away, like which bird it belonged to and where I found it.

I just wanted the viewer to know as much as I did when I found it, what bird was it and how did it get there, how long has it been there for and how come it wasn't destroyed?

I used a 10x10cm container to create a very small model, and then made a small tree stump out of clay. As well as this, I used my 36 LED light, but this time, instead of using the orange filter, i just the white light so I could edit the final image better and get the darkness and temperature I wanted.

Here are the final three images I chose as I found the lighting makes the images a lot more powerful.




4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page